Important Contacts for Undergraduate Students

We know that taking classes remotely and only coming to campus for essential learning activities is challenging.That's why we created this list of importantcontacts for the College of Health and Human Services (CHHS) undergraduate students. Connect with the correct faculty or staff member to get academic and career advising,join a student organization, or learn program-specific information.

Advising Center

Undergraduate Advising for the College of Health & Human Servicesis done through the CHHS Advising Center. The Advising Center can help with:

  • Exploring and declaring majors and minors​
  • Providing General Education and major advising​
  • Assisting with course registration, scheduling and graduating planning
  • Helping with academic policies and processes
  • Connecting to campus resources

For contact info and hours, visit theCHHS Advising Centerwebsite. ​

Note:

Career Workshops:Jointo RSVP for career workshops and sessions.

IndividualAppointments:Students may also schedule an individual appointment with Amy Gleason, the Career Coordinator,through SSC.

  1. Log in using.Click on the BeachConnectbutton.
  2. On the far right side, click the “Get Assistance” Button to make an advising appointment.
  3. From the drop-down menu choose the type of appointment you need. To meet with your Career Counselor choose “Academic Advising”.
  4. Select the type of advising by choosing the “Advising Center”. Then select the service “Career/Internship Exploration.”
  5. Select "College of Health and Human Services Advising Center" from the Location drop-down.
  6. Choose the day and time that fits with your schedule. If none of the available times work for you, you can view the Walk-in Times for the advising center.
  7. Review theAppointment Detailsand select which method you wish to receive your reminder: email or text. Please put a few brief notes about what you’d like to discuss with your advisor in the comment box.

Student Groups

BeachSync is 's online community. On BeachSyncyou can interact with student organizations andget up-to-date information on meetings, events, and activities.

Find the BeachSync information for all the CHHS Student Organizations.

Undergraduate Programs

Faculty Mentors: Contact your faculty mentorfordiscipline-specific questions,graduate program and study abroad information, or assistance with internships andcareer opportunities.

Child Development & Family Studies:Students are advised by their last name.

First Letter of Your Last Name Faculty Mentor Contact Information
A-D Dr. Nancy Dayne nancy.dayne@csulb.edu
E-H Dr. Tiffany Brown tiffany.brown@csulb.edu
I-M Dr.Youngok Jung youngok.jung@csulb.edu
N-Q Dr. Michelle Taylor michelle.taylor@csulb.edu
R-U Dr. Sarah Taylor sarah.taylor@csulb.edu
V-Z Dr. Matthew Jaurequi matthew.jaurequi@csulb.edu

Family Life Education: Students are advised by their last name.

First Letter of Your Last Name Faculty Mentor Contact Information
A-M Dr. Nilufer Medora nilufer.medora@csulb.edu
N-Z Dr. Roudi Roy roudi.roy@csulb.edu

Course-Specific Information:Contact the course instructor.

Department Chair:Dr. Wendy Reiboldt

Contact the Department Chair if you have emailed a CDFSfacultyor staff member and do not hear back within two businessdays.

Main Office: Contact the Administrative Support Coordinator, Monique Corona,for program-specific information and administrative issues.

Internship information:Please refer to the Criminology and Criminal Justice BeachBoard page.

Course-specific information: Contact the course instructor

School Director: Dr. Brenda Vogel

Contact the School Director if you have emailed a CRJUfacultyor staff member and do not hear back within two businessdays.

Faculty Mentor:Dr. Peter Kreysa

Contact the faculty mentorfordiscipline-specific questions, study abroad and graduate program information, or assistance with internships andcareer opportunities.

Course-specific information:Contact the course instructor.

Department Chair:Dr. Wendy Reiboldt

Contact the Department Chair ifyou have emailed a CAFF facultyor staff member and do not hear back within two businessdays.

Faculty Mentor:Dr. Suzanne Marshall

Contact your faculty mentor fordiscipline-specific questions, study abroad, and graduate program information or assistance with internships andcareer opportunities.

Course-specific information: Contact the course instructor.

Department Chair: Dr. WendyReiboldt

Contact the Department Chair ifyou have emailed an FMD facultyorstaff member and do not hear back within two businessdays.

Faculty Mentor:Dr. Cheryl Rock

Contact your faculty mentor fordiscipline-specific questions,graduate program information,or assistance with internships andcareer opportunities.

Course-specific information: Contact the course instructor. For contact information, visit theFCS Faculty & Staffpage.

Department Chair:Dr. WendyReiboldt

Contact the Department Chair ifyou have emailed an FSCIfacultyorstaff member and do not hear back within two businessdays.

Faculty Mentor:Dr. Maria Claver

Contact your facultymentor for program-specific questions, graduate program information, or assistance with internships and career opportunities.

Course-specific information: Contact the course instructor

Department Chair:Dr. WendyReiboldt

Contact the Department Chair if you have emailed a GERNinstructor and do not hear back within two businessdays.

Undergraduate Program Director:Dr. Henry O’Lawrence

Contact the Undergraduate Program Director fordiscipline-specific questions or assistance withcareer opportunities and graduate program information.

Internship information:Visit theHCA Internship Programpage for internship information and course instructors.

Internship Coordinator:Dr. Brenda Freshman

Contact the Internship Coordinator for any further internship information.

Course-specific information: Contact the course instructor

Department Chair:Dr. Erlyana Erlyana

Contact the Department Chair ifyou have emailed an HCA facultyor staff member and do not hear back within two businessdays.

Undergraduate Coordinator:Vikki Bisorca

Contact the Undergraduate Coordinator fordiscipline-specific questions orstudy abroad and graduate program information.

Internship Coordinator:Dr. Veronica Acosta-Deprez.

Questions regarding class content or types of internship site should be directed to the Internship Coordinator.

Career counseling:Gail Farmer
Course-specific information: Contact the course instructor

Department Coordinator: Karen Miyahara

Contact the Department Coordinator if you have emailed an HS faculty or staff member and do not hear back within two businessdays.

Department Chair: Dr. Kamiar Alaei

Program-specific information

Faculty Mentors: Contact your faculty mentor for discipline-specific questions, graduate program information, study abroad course approval, and assistance with internshipand career opportunities.

Students are advised by their last name.

First Letter of Your Last Name Faculty Mentor Contact Information
A-G Dr. Lee Blecher lee.blecher@csulb.edu
H-N Dr. Ryan Giffen ryan.giffen@csulb.edu
O-T Dr. Libby Gustin libby.gustin@csulb.edu
U-Z Dr. Ronnie Yeh ronnie.yeh@csulb.edu

Course-specific information: Contact the course instructor

Program Director: Dr. Lee Blecher

Department Chair:Dr. WendyReiboldt

Contact the Department Chair if you have emailed an HM faculty or staff memberand do not hear back within two businessdays.

Didactic Program in Dietetics (DPD)information: Contact Dustin Moore.

Faculty Mentors:Email your faculty mentor for questions about career options, graduate school, and selecting the right major.

Students are advised by their last name:

First Letter of Your Last Name Faculty Mentor Contact Information
A-C James Childers james.childers@csulb.edu
H-M Dr. Michelle Barrack michelle.barrack@csulb.edu
N-R Dr. Virginia Gray virginia.gray@csulb.edu
S-Z Dr. Long Wang long.wang@csulb.edu

Course-specific information: Contact the course instructor

Department Chair:Dr. WendyReiboldt

Contact the Department Chair ifyou have emailed a NUTR facultyorstaff member and do not hear back within two businessdays.

Faculty Mentors:Faculty mentors provide assistance with discipline-specific questions, career opportunities, graduate program information, and internship inquiries.

K-12 Teaching Credential:Dr. Emyr Williams

Exercise Science: Students are advised by their last name.

First Letter of Your Last Name Faculty Mentor Contact Information
A-H
I-L Dr. Josh Cotter joshua.cotter@csulb.edu
M-R Dr. Evan Schick evan.schick@csulb.edu
S-Z Dr. Will Wu will.wu@csulb.edu

Fitness:Dr. Jan Schroeder

Physical Education-Teacher Education:Students are advised by their last name:

First Letter of Your Last Name Faculty Mentor Contact Information
A-M Dr. Jeff Kress jeff.kress@csulb.edu
N-Z Dr. Christine Galvan christine.galvan@csulb.edu

Sport Psychology and Leadership: Students are advised by their last name.

First Letter of Your Last Name Faculty Mentor Contact Information
A-M Dr. Alison Ede alison.ede@csulb.edu
N-Z Dr. Leilani Madrigal leilani.madrigal@csulb.edu

Course-specific information: contact your course instructor

Exchange program information:Dr. Emyr Williams

Department Chair:Dr. Tiffanye Vargas

Contact the Department Chair for undergraduate program information or if you have emailed a KIN faculty or staff member and do not hear back within two businessdays.

CSU Long Beach ROTC and RecruitmentOffice: contact David Ziegelhoferfor program information, enrollment, eligibility, scholarship opportunities, or tocontact an instructor or staff member.

Program Chair: Maj. Victor Stephenson

Contact the Program Chair ifyou have emailed your instructor and do not hear back within twobusiness days.

Undergraduate Programs Coordinator - Current and Prospective Students: Nancy Espinosa

Prospective students and current undergraduate students should contact theUndergraduate Programs Coordinator for program information and advising.

Administrative Support Coordinator - Course Scheduling and Permits:Mark Vela

Contact the Administration Support Coordinator for course scheduling and permits.

Course-specific information: Contact your course instructor

Assistant Director of Undergraduate Programs:Melissa Dyo

School Director: Dr.Lucy Huckabay

Contact the School Director if you have emailed an NRSG faculty or staff member and do not hear back within 2 business days

Faculty Mentors: Contact yourfaculty mentor fordiscipline-specific questions,graduate program information,study abroad course approval, and assistance with internships and career opportunities.

Course-specific information: Contact the course instructor

Department Chair: Dr. Terry Robertson.

Contact the Department Chair if you have emailed a REC faculty or staff memberand do not hear back within two business days.

Admissions questions and information:Mercedes Anderson

Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Lisa Jennings

Contact the Undergraduate Program Directorforprogram-specific questions,graduate program information,study abroad course approval, and assistance withcareer opportunities.

Field Education information:

Director of Field Education: Dr.Susan Salas

For further field education information, contact the Director of Field Education.

Course-specific information: Course instructor

School Director: Dr. Nancy Meyer-Adams

Contact the School Directorifyou have emailed an SW faculty or staff member and do not hear back within 2 business days.

Undergraduate Mentor:Belinda Daughrity

Contact the undergraduatementorformajor-specific questions,graduate program information,and assistance withcareer opportunities.

  • Email:
  • Phone:562.985.1527

Course-specific information: contact the course instructor

Department Chair: Dr.Pei-Fang Hung

Contact the Department Chair if you have emailed an SLP faculty or staff memberand do not hear back within two business days.